Reactions

It’s always interesting to see the reactions when people find out we are moving half way around the world. Here are a few recent reactions:

1. “What are you doing with your life now? Work? School?” You look great, bladi-blah. 

“Uh, well, we’re moving.” She didn’t know this?? I thought this is what Facebook is for…

Feign interest. They’re probably only moving somewhere boring like Nebraska… “Oh really? Where?”

Still can’t believe she doesn’t know this. “Uh, Egypt.”

“NO REALLY?! THAT’S GREAT!! …Why?”

 

2. Today I was also asked where my fedora and whip were. After all, all Egyptologists dress like Indiana Jones, right? Since he was totally an Egyptologist AND lived in Egypt. (have you even seen the movies??)

“Well, we’re sure gonna miss you guys. It’ll probably be good to get away from all the toothless  meth-heads around here. It’s nice to talk to someone intelligent every once in a while to keep me sane. But really, you should get a fedora.”

Alright, I’ll play along. “I’m sure they hand them out at graduation or something.”

“Well I’d want to make sure I got those things nailed down before I went and did something crazy like Egyptology.”

That there is witty banter, sir. 

 

3. Or my personal favorite:

“What do you plan to do with your life?”

“Egyptology.”

“I’ve heard of it.”

Thanks.

2 thoughts on “Reactions

What do you think?

