Mister William

Flashback to our first day in Egypt.

We awake to discover that our (soon to be) friend is waiting in the kitchen for us.

He says, “Hello Mr William!”

He pronounced it “Mister Will-yum.”

I didn’t for a moment think of correcting him.

And so, in the two weeks following, I was “Mister William” to him and everyone he introduced us to. I answered to that name without hesitation. I was thrilled to be making Egyptian friends, no matter what they called me.

Eventually, our friend saw my passport and corrected himself, not without a few jokes of course.

We discovered that the email announcing my reservation had been next to an email from “____ William.”

Our friend still calls me that sometimes. And it always makes me smile.

What do you think?

