Where Did This Crazy Idea Come From Anyway?

This week is the 5-year anniversary of how it all began.

For my 17th Birthday my thoughtful father did two things for my last birthday at home that I will never forget: he spent hours in the kitchen making me a Star Wars birthday cake that was so perfect I could barely eat it, and he offered to take me anywhere in the world. For the months leading up to my birthday I considered a few locations including Rome and Tunisia (both of which we visited as a family within the next year), but a documentary I happened to catch airing on TV about King Tut’s tomb made me realize with shock that the perfect birthday trip would be seeing the Pyramids at Giza.

We visited the Great Pyramids, Saqqara, the Valley of the Kings (went inside Tut’s tomb), Valley of the Queens, Hatshepsut’s Mortuary Temple, Karnak Temple, Luxor Temple, Alexandrian catacombs, and the Mediterranean Sea. My journaling during the trip was short and to the point (we really didn’t have much down time). Here’s an excerpt:

September 5, 2006

We landed in Cairo at 2:00 in the morning and were picked up in a very old and rickety taxi by an older man who didn’t speak very good English. He took us to where my dad had booked a room: the Desert Safary [sic] Hotel, for nine dollars a person and let’s just say you get what you pay for. No air-conditioning though this be the hottest month in Egypt, one sheet and one blanket which didn’t look fantastic, and a small bathroom with 3 walls and no shower curtain ensuring that water get on everything. But it was bearable. My Dad picked it because it was literally a one minute walk away from the Egyptian Museum in Cairo. We enjoyed that… I’m exhausted from the past few days. Sleep deprived really. I’m just not getting enough [sleep] to keep up with all the excitement. 

Almost two weeks later when I was forced to leave Egypt I told my dad that after dreams of veterinary sciences, copy-editing, marine biology and aviation, I’d decided on Egyptology.

So here we are. I’m five years older, married, am pursuing a graduate degree and I still keep a journal… but I can write a little better.

To make the event even more memorable, my father will be joining us in Cairo this week! It wasn’t planned, but we will be in Cairo together for the 5-year anniversary of our first trip here. What a blessing.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What do you think?

