Egyptomania #1

I numbered this blog post because the longer I am alive and interact with amateur historians (by this I mean people who like to read history but have not made it their professional field) the more I realize the inexorable draw of ancient Egypt. Egyptomania is the term that describes this appeal, which reached its height in the 1800s with the decipherment of hieroglyphs and the increased transportation of Egyptian artifacts to Europe, though really the hype has yet to end.

Today, Brice talked with a study-abroad student here in Egypt because he is in the intensive Arabic program.

“When I saw the pyramids I fell in love.” My response: “Oh. You’ve caught the bug.”

What is it about ancient Egypt that draws universal enthusiasts?

What do you think?

