Bleach makes ants go bye bye

Yesterday:

“This ant pandemic on our counter is really getting out of hand. It’s like the counter itself is moving.” – Brice

“… hey! Do you think bleach would work on ants?” -Bry

“No. I sprayed an ant and it didn’t even stop moving.”

“When was that?”

“Last week.”

“Well… I’ll try it anyway. I can’t think of anything else we can do right now.”

I leave the room to get the bleach spray bottle from the bathroom. I hear Brice say to Nubia in a cootchie-coo voice: “Your mommy is going to go make a fool of herself. Yes, she is.”

“THANKS!”

I spray the two holes in our kitchen wall from which the ants are launching their full-scale invasion of our home, with a good dousing of bleach. Within seconds, no ants are entering or exiting the holes. “I think it’s working! They won’t go near the bleach!”

“It’s probably just temporary.”

 

Today:

“Did those ants ever come back?” -Bry

“Uh… no?” -Brice

“Oh really? So I really made a fool of myself, didn’t I Nubia?” Nubia remained supportively silent. But we all know whose side she’s on.

Lesson learned: bleach makes ants go bye-bye.
(postscript: after reading this blog out loud to Brice he adds: “I still don’t think that’s true.”)

What do you think?

