Lamb Stew

A few nights ago I made Lamb Stew thanks to a gift of lamb for Eid ul Adha from our Kuwaiti friends. As we muscled our way through the chewy meat I was reminded of a joke I heard as a kid living in Sub-Saharan Africa.

Two white men were visiting an African tribe and in honor of their visit, a cow was slaughtered. After the cow had been sliced up and cooked in a large stew, servings were heaped into a smaller bowl. The tribe sat in a circle around a fire to talk and tell stories and the bowl of meat was passed from person to person. When one of the foreigners ended up chewing on a gristly piece and was not certain if it would be polite to spit it out, he secretly slipped it into the bowl the next time it came around.

After the evening was over the two men chatted about the food. One man complained: “I got a terrible gristle one time around! I swear I chewed on it for five minutes and finally gave up, and, erm, well. I’m a little embarrassed but I didn’t know what to do with it so I put it back into the bowl.”
The other man laughed: “Oh, you got that piece too, eh?”

Ewww.  

3 thoughts on “Lamb Stew

  1. I looked up several recipes but didn’t find one that I liked so I made something up. I was a little nervous about it, but in the end I thought it was one of the more delicious stews I’d ever made.

What do you think?

