Merry Christmas to all!

Like good expats we logged in 4+ hours on Skype yesterday, opening presents with family long-distance and digitally experiencing snow. It was hard, this year, I’ll admit. There were a few tears between the two of us (and a few too many cravings for eggnog). But I am aware of my own expat childhood, only ten years ago, when sometimes a phone call from grandparents wouldn’t even come through, or a Christmas package would arrive during the following June. And I feel thoroughly spoiled to have presents from family and a tree, even, and candy-canes we saved from last year and Christmas cards to hang. I am so thankful and so joyful that I am where I am, and have been given the experiences I have, even when the Christmas season makes my heart ache for friends and family.

Merry Christmas to all! May it be said of all of us that we know how to keep Christmas well.

20121226-013751.jpg

What do you think?

