Language Practice Joke

As dedicated readers may remember, in my previous blog, Language Practice Battle, I described how I have been doing my best to practice my Arabic skills by using them in conversation. While some Egyptians insist on practicing their English on me, others humor me and my limited childish banter. So it was with the meter reader who came to check my electricity usage yesterday. I opened the door, and the conversation went like this:

Salam alicom.    (Yo.)

Alicom salam. Lizem byshof meterak.    (Yo. I need to see your meter.)

Meshi.    (Okay cool.)

Btitkalem Arabi kwayes.    (You speak Arabic well).

Ana arif shwaya bas.    (I only know a little.)

Btakal foul?    (Do you eat fuul? [a common Egyptian dish of beans])

Ayawa tab3n.    (Yeah, of course.)

Kwayes. Enta arif Arabi.    (Good, then you know Arabic.)

Thus, he insinuated that by eating traditional Egyptian food, I would learn to speak like an Egyptian. Needless to say, I will be eating much more Egyptian food now.

What do you think?

