Food Blog #2: Shakshuka

One of the most important events of our recent visit to Aswan occurred on the morning of our final day. Before going to the airport, I headed to the roof to meet the owner of our guesthouse, who had promised to make me some breakfast. When I arrived, he placed the following meal before me:

Shakshoka is delicious.

There was tea (mandatory in Egypt), bread, potatoes, and  fried okra. Then, he brought out two skillets. As you can see in the picture, the one of the left contains freshly scrambled eggs and the one on the right contains some red-ish pasty stuff. This “stuff,” I was later informed, is called “shakshuka.” It is delicious, sort-of good for you, and an interesting case of multiple cultures creating their own version of the same dish.

Shakshuka is usually a combination of tomatoes, peppers, onions, and spices, and is served with fried or sunny-side-up eggs. There are a plethora  of different versions of this dish, and you can find it served in Tunisia, Libya, Algeria, Morocco, Israel, and Egypt.

Having experienced the joy of shakshuka in Aswan, my wife and I replicated the magic in our own kitchen. First, I chopped up the onions and peppers and sautéed them in olive oil.

Cooking 1

Then we added finely chopped tomatoes. She also put in garlic, chili powder, cumin, and paprika, and then let it simmer.

Cooking 2

Then we cracked four eggs on top and cooked it all under a lid for a while.

Cooking 3

 

We topped the finished product with parsley. When it was done, it looked like this!

Cooking 4

We served it with bread for scooping and soaking up the sauce, and it was complete! It was a delicious and easy to assemble meal that I would recommend to most people.

 

6 thoughts on “Food Blog #2: Shakshuka

  1. I tried this recipe but there was no sauce… did you use canned tomatoes with the juice? I chopped fresh tomatoes. :-) The eggs cooked but took awhile, as there was little or no steam under the lid.

    • Thanks for commenting! We stopped posting on this blog because we moved to Canada. I was planning to do a post about how we moved away from Cairo, but I was too sad to write it!

      • I actually never thought of that! It would be a very long post. Full of sadness and difficult paperwork.
        We went to Cairo to attend Master’s school, then I got a job at a publishing company after graduation.

What do you think?

